About my new blog

This blog is a work in progress. I have been toying with the idea of writing a blog for many months. Ever since my husband died in August of 2014, people have been telling me to write down my grief and my thoughts. I have no problem writing about my grief for my private self, but I am reluctant to be so public about it. There are many blogs about widows and widowhood, so I don’t see why my story is a needed part of the conversation.

Instead of writing a personal blog about my personal grief, I am combining the blog idea with another idea that has been kicking around my head for a few months. I have been thinking of examining the various grief books out there that are written for children, both fiction and non-fiction. This blog is going to become a review site for those books. My hope is that it will be a searchable database with grade level, type of grief, etc. So often grief books were given to us by well-meaning friends and family for my own children that were irrelevant for their grief. Books about pet death for a child who has lost a father can be insulting and isolating.

If anyone happens to find this, I would appreciate some blog titles. I have NO IDEA what to call this blog. I thought about “The Widowed Librarian” but that sounds very depressing.


Leave a Reply

